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Introduction 
The close of the 59th legislative session brought about 
some major accomplishments for the state of Oklahoma. 
One of the early achievements was the elimination of the 
4.5 percent state portion of the grocery sales tax, which 
is expected to save Oklahoma taxpayers more than 
$370 million each year. The Legislature made historic 
investments in funding public education and established 
a program to provide more than $350 million to address 
deferred maintenance at state properties, state parks, 
and public colleges and universities. Public safety needs 
were also addressed by funding the completion of a new 
Department of Public Safety training facility, creating a 
classification system for felony offenses, and establishing 
criminal penalties for impermissible occupation when 
someone willfully enters and remains in the state without 

having obtained legal authorization to enter the United 
States. 

Agriculture and Rural Development
SB 1424 amends the Oklahoma Registered Poultry 
Feeding Operations Act by:

•	 Declaring that administrative violations are not 
the basis for criminal or civil action and provides 
protections to integrators, growers, operators, 
contractors, and applicators; 

•	 Declaring that any alleged violation is not the basis 
for any private right of action;

•	 Declaring that a compliant nutrient management 
plan means that the operation is following best 
management practices, which insulates the grower, 
integrator, and applicator from any private right of 
action; 

•	 Ensuring that civil action for damages is allowed 
after the State Board of Agriculture completes its 
enforcement action;

•	 Placing the responsibility for maintaining educational 
requirements on the operators and applicators;

•	 Requiring revisions to the nutrient management plan 
when runoff of poultry waste occurs at an application 
site;

•	 Increasing the fee charged to the owner or operator 
from $200 per day to $1,000 per day for violations of 
the act; 

•	 Punishing the owner or operator for inaction that 
could lead to pollution of any stream, lake, river, or 
creek with a fee of $500 to $10,000 per violation; 

•	 Increasing the upper limit of administrative penalties 
for owners or operators with late or incomplete 
paperwork from $200 per day to $10,000 per day;

•	 Allowing the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, 
Food, and Forestry (ODAFF) to assess a separate fee 
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of $10,000 for owner or operator noncompliance that 
has led to water pollution;

•	 Ensuring that fees shall be used to enforce the act; 

•	 Providing details about the notice ODAFF sends to 
the integrator when an operator is disregarding best 
management practices;

•	 Outlining the integrator’s responsibility to ensure 
the grower becomes compliant and requires the 
integrator to suspend bird delivery or terminate the 
integrator-producer relationship, depending on the 
circumstances;

•	 Allowing ODAFF to issue a penalty fee to integrators 
for $100 to $10,000 for violating any aspect of 
integrator-operator notification process; and

•	 Clarifying that an employer-employee relationship 
does not exist between an integrator and contractor.

HB 3196 removes the maximum number of Oklahoma 
State University (OSU) veterinary students who can be 
accepted into the rural Oklahoma veterinary training 
program. Funding preference will be given to students 
currently enrolled in the OSU College of Veterinary 
Medicine and focused on large animals. The measure also 
increases the maximum amount of funds each student 
can receive per year from $20,000 to $25,000.

Alcohol, Tobacco, and Controlled Substances
HB 1723 enables caterers who offer alcoholic beverage 
sales at the location of someone seeking an on-premises 
license to acquire a storage license. This license permits 
them to store alcoholic beverages bought at unlicensed 
sites during the duration of the written agreement. 
Furthermore, it allows the storage license to be 
transferred to the on-premises applicant once they are 
granted licensure.

HB 3352 grants exemption from the Oklahoma Tax 
Commission bond requirement to Oklahoma Alcoholic 
Beverage Laws Enforcement Commission license or 
permit holders who maintain 10 years of consistent tax 
payment compliance. This exemption is applicable to 
both existing and prospective license and permit holders 
meeting the eligibility criteria.

Additionally, the bill specifies that the bond exemption 
will be revoked if a license or permit holder becomes 
delinquent or noncompliant with tax payments, 
necessitating the provision of the original bond required 
by their license or permit.

Business and Commerce
HB 3595 directs the Oklahoma Employment Security 
Commission (OESC) to establish an online jobs center 
for employers to post job openings. OESC may require 

unemployment claimants to use the online platform to 
create an account, take a skills test, and add a resume. 

HB 3158 requires the State Board of Cosmetology and 
Barbering to issue licenses to nonprofit schools within 
correctional facilities and modifies certain application 
procedures, including obtaining approval from the 
Department of Corrections. The schools may not charge 
tuition and must operate within designated areas. 
Inmates enrolled in these programs are considered 
low-income individuals and may receive fee waivers for 
licensure, certification, or renewal.
HB 3253 overhauls various definitions and requirements 
for architects, engineers, interior designers, and surveyors. 
The measure also authorizes the Board of Governors 
of the Licensed Architects, Landscape Architects, and 
Registered Commercial Interior Designers of Oklahoma 
to establish instructional programs for individuals 
currently licensed or seeking licensure as an architect or 
interior designer. The board may enter into agreements 
with educational organizations to facilitate courses in 
architecture, landscape architecture, or commercial 
interior design fields.
HB 3215 modifies continuing education requirements 
for electrical contractors, journeymen, and apprentices. 
Contractors and journeymen must complete 12 hours 
of continuing education every three years for license 
renewal. Apprentices must complete three hours of 
continuing education annually for registration renewal. 
Continuing education is not required for apprentices 
who are students or enrolled in an approved course. 
The measure also alters the qualifications for electrical 
licensing exams. A score of 70 percent or higher on each 
part of the exam is considered a passing score. Applicants 
must wait 30 days to retake the exam after each failure.

County and Municipal Government
SB 1854 prohibits any person from setting up unauthorized 
camps on state-owned lands. An unauthorized camp is 
defined in the measure as any tent, shelter, or bedding 
constructed for overnight sleeping on property not 
designated as a campsite. Violators are subject to a $50 
fine or up to 15 days in the county jail or both if convicted. 
A first offense will result in a warning and the arresting 
officer may not issue a citation unless the violator refuses 
assistance such as transportation to a shelter or food 
pantry, or other available indigent resources. 
HB 4091 authorizes the Fire Marshal’s Commission to 
arbitrate disagreements over fire protection service areas 
and to determine fire protection service area boundary 
lines. The Fire Marshal’s Commission must consider 
response time, financial burden, and service capabilities 
when making a determination. 
HB 3763 allows county officials and fire departments 
to post burn ban signs on Oklahoma Department of 
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Transportation (ODOT) and Oklahoma Turnpike 
Authority owned signposts. The locations of the burn 
ban signs are to be agreed upon by ODOT and the fire 
department or county. Installation, removal, and any 
associated costs are the responsibility of the county or fire 
department. 

SB 1771 allows burn ban signs to be posted in rights-
of-way by county commissioners or the board of directors 
of a fire protection district. The placement of such signs 
must be coordinated with ODOT. The entity that places 
the sign must remove it upon expiration of the burn ban. 

SJR 16 sends a constitutional amendment to a vote 
of the people that, if approved, would create public 
infrastructure districts. Public infrastructure districts 
can incur indebtedness and issue bonds to pay for public 
improvements. A petition containing signatures from all 
of the property owners within the area must be filed with 
the municipality before a public infrastructure district 
can be created.

HB 1967 authorizes any county to levy up to 1 percent 
sales tax on goods and services in the county to fund 
emergency medical services with voter approval. Passage 
of the tax requires approval by a majority of the voters 
at a special election called by a resolution of the board 
of county commissioners. Any revenue derived from the 
sales tax will be apportioned in the same manner as the 
ad valorem collections for ambulance service districts. 
Monies received by an ambulance service district will 
also be subject to an audit by the State Auditor. Counties 
will also be required to enter into an agreement with any 
emergency service provider receiving funds and must 
verify the provider’s licensure and standing with the 
State Department of Health. 

Criminal Justice
SB 2039 creates the Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault 
Services Revolving Fund within the Office of the Attorney 
General. The Attorney General is to expend monies from 
the fund to provide statewide access to a stable system 
of delivery of services to victims of domestic violence 
and sexual assault, promote a coordinated community 
approach to serving victims of domestic violence and 
sexual assault, and provide access to services through 
dedicated support of underserved population programs. 
Any entity receiving monies from the fund must have full 
certification as a domestic violence and sexual assault 
victim service agency, be a nonprofit, and be subject to 
an annual audit. The first 5 percent of monies from the 
fund are to go to qualified entities serving underserved 
populations. Additionally, $200,000 is for each qualified 
entity operating a shelter program and $150,000 is for 
each qualified entity operating a crisis intervention 
center. Grants are to be proportionally reduced if grants 
awarded exceed the monies in the fund. The measure 
splits the fund into two accounts. One account is to 

receive 30 percent; the remainder is to be deposited in 
the other account. Monies in the 30 percent account are 
to be expended in counties with a population of 600,000 or 
greater. Monies from the other account are to be expended 
in counties with a population of less than 600,000. The 
general appropriations bill, SB 1125, directs $17 million 
to the fund.
SB 1835 creates the Oklahoma Survivors’ Act to require 
the court to consider as a mitigating factor a person’s 
history of physical, sexual, and psychological abuse prior 
to sentencing. The defendant must provide documentary 
evidence corroborating that the defendant was a victim of 
domestic violence at the time the offence was committed. 
Additionally, the defendant must provide a court record, 
presentence report, social services record, hospital 
record, or a sworn statement from a person who is not 
the defendant. Other evidence outlined in the measure 
may also be provided to corroborate the abuse. If the court 
determines that the defendant was the victim of domestic 
abuse or the subjected to physical, sexual, or psychological 
abuse at the time the offense was committed, the court 
is to depart from the applicable sentence ranges outlined 
in the measure. This departure cannot be applied to an 
offense that requires the defendant to register as a sex 
offender, offenses relating to child abuse, or offenses 
resulting in the defendant receiving the death penalty. 
Persons who were previously convicted of an offense 
may have a hearing to determine if the provisions of 
the Oklahoma Survivors’ Act are applicable to their 
convictions. Offenders previously convicted of a crime 
who qualify for the reduced sentencing must submit 
a request for resentencing. Applicants must provide 
similar documentary evidence as outlined previously in 
the measure.
SB 1933 creates the 17-member Sexual Assault Forensic 
Evidence (SAFE) Board within the Office of the Attorney 
General with the powers and duties to: 
•	 Examine the process for gathering and analyzing 

sexual assault forensic evidence kits; 
•	 Develop a plan for the prioritization and acceptance 

of untested kits; 
•	 Identify procedures for testing anonymous kits; 
•	 Identifying improvements for victim access to 

evidence other than kits, including police reports and 
other physical evidence; 

•	 Identifying additional rights of victims concerning 
the kit testing process; 

•	 Identifying and pursuing grants and other funding 
sources to address untested kits, reduce testing 
wait times, provide victim notification, and improve 
efficiencies in the kit testing process; and 

•	 Develop a training plan for equipping and enhancing 
the work of law enforcement, prosecutors, victim 
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advocates, sexual assault nurse examiners, and 
sexual assault response teams in all jurisdictions in 
the state. 

The measure directs the board to:

•	 Promulgate rules regarding the collection of sexual 
assault forensic evidence and maintain related 
statistical information;

•	 Establish procedures for obtaining initial information 
regarding the collection of sexual assault forensic 
evidence from medical and law enforcement entities;

•	 Review the practices and procedures of medical and 
law enforcement systems; and

•	 Request and obtain a copy of all records and reports 
pertaining to sexual assault forensic evidence and 
submit an annual statistical report.

In an effort to address the rape kits backlog, the general 
appropriation bill, SB 1125, provides $1.5 million to the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.

SB 1211 increases the punishment for assault and battery 
by strangulation or attempted strangulation against an 
intimate partner or household member from a maximum 
of three years to a maximum of 10 years in prison. 

HB 3752 allows the Domestic Violence Fatality Review 
Board to request and obtain records of the Oklahoma 
Department of Corrections (DOC). The measure adds 
an additional member to the Domestic Violence Fatality 
Review Board by including a designee of DOC who has 
a minimum of five years of experience in corrections 
and is currently assigned to the Community Outreach, 
Programs, or Population Units of the Department.

HB 1792 places Oklahoma’s over 2,000 felonies into 14 
different categories based on the severity of the crime. 
Furthermore, it aligns sentence ranges with current 
practices based on data derived from judicial sentencing 
orders, rather than actual time served. The measure sets 
standard sentencing ranges and minimum time served 
requirements for Class C and D felonies, with the severity 
of these sentences increasing after repeat offenses.

SB 1994 provides for the removal of unlawful occupants 
of property. The measure authorizes property owners 
to request the sheriff of a county in which the property 
is located to immediately remove a person or persons 
unlawfully occupying real property if certain conditions 
are met. The sheriff must serve a notice to immediately 
vacate on all unlawful occupants of the property prior 
to their removal. The measure authorizes the sheriff to 
arrest any person found on the property for trespass, 
outstanding warrants, or any other legal cause. Any 
person wrongfully removed may bring a civil cause of 
action. Additionally, the measure creates a felony for 
unlawfully occupying a property and causing intentional 
damages greater than $1,000. The measure establishes 

a maximum term of imprisonment at three years and/or 
a maximum fine of $10,000. Any person who presents a 
false document purporting to be a valid lease agreement 
or deed is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by up to 
one year in the county jail, a fine of not more than $1,000, 
or both.

SB 1877 modifies the period of time for which a prosecutor 
may aggregate crimes of larceny. The measure lengthens 
from 90 days to 180 days in which the value of the goods 
involved in the larceny may be aggregated to determine 
the total value for purposes of determining the appropriate 
punishment.

SB 11 allows an incarcerated individual who is within 
five years of being released to be eligible for a state tuition 
aid grant. 

Economic Development
SB 1447 creates the COMPETE Act, establishing two new 
divisions within the Oklahoma Department of Commerce: 
the Division on Economic Development, Growth, and 
Expansion (EDGE) and the Division on Community 
Outreach and Revitalization Enterprise (CORE). EDGE 
and CORE will collaborate to encourage economic stability 
in the state, improve the economic competitiveness 
of the state, and implement the strategic plan for the 
department. The primary duties for EDGE will be to serve 
as the state’s lead economic development point of contact 
and the primary duties for CORE will be to focus on the 
long-term development of local communities to increase 
competitiveness and enhance economic opportunities. 

Furthermore, the measure adds the Oklahoma Workforce 
Commission as a collaborator on the state’s five-year 
economic development plan and requires the plan to 
include an economic development strategy that addresses 
target industries, site development, and workforce needs. 
Lastly, the measure creates the eight-member Legislative 
Evaluation and Development Committee to review 
financing for incentive packages that are greater than 
$20 million.

HB 3959 expands the Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program 
to allow professional sports teams from the NFL, NBA, 
NHL, MLB, or MLS to receive quarterly rebate payments 
for up to 5 percent of the actual gross pay of sport-league 
jobs employed by the team for the duration of the team’s 
existence in Oklahoma. Qualifying businesses must 
submit an application to the Oklahoma Department of 
Commerce and have at least $10 million in new payrolls 
within one year. Rebate payments are capped at $10 
million per year per team and will be clawed back if the 
team does not stay in Oklahoma for more than three years. 
The Oklahoma Tax Commission is authorized to set aside 
income tax revenue to pay for the incentive payments, 
which will be placed in the newly created Oklahoma Five 
Major Sports League Rebate Payment Fund.
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Education
HB 3278 modifies certain graduation requirements 
beginning in the 2025-26 school year. The new 
requirements include four units of math, which must 
include algebra I and algebra II or geometry, and six 
pathway units that align with each student’s individual 
career and academic plan. District boards of education 
must also approve three additional elective units of any 
subject. A postsecondary-approved full-time CareerTech 
program or locally approved course may satisfy the 
required physical science or remaining math units.

SB 362 modifies various provisions of the newly 
renamed Strong Readers Act. The measure establishes 
the Statewide Literacy Revolving Fund to support 
teacher training programs in the science of reading. It 
prohibits schools from using the “three-cueing system” for 
reading instruction and requires the approval of reading 
screening instruments by the State Board of Education in 
consultation with relevant educational bodies.

Additionally, the measure mandates individual reading 
intervention plans for students showing deficiencies in 
reading, along with parental notification within 30 days of 
identifying the deficiencies. School districts are required 
to report reading proficiency skills and intervention 
outcomes to the State Department of Education, 
publish annual reports on district websites, and modify 
the procedure for remediating retained students. The 
measure also eliminates the intense reading instruction 
for kindergartners through third-graders who are 
exhibiting a reading deficiency, removes the good-cause 
exemption for students not demonstrating proficiency 
by the third grade, and introduces new requirements for 
teacher candidates and individuals seeking alternative 
placement teaching certificates for elementary education.

HB 3792 creates the Oklahoma Access and Achievement 
Program to provide scholarships to eligible students with 
intellectual disabilities studying in a comprehensive 
transition and postsecondary program (CTP). A student 
is eligible for the program if they graduated high school in 
the previous six years, have enrolled in a CTP program, 
and establish financial need. The program is an expansion 
of Oklahoma’s Promise.

SB 1302 allows a student who was placed in the custody 
of the Department of Human Services at any time from 
eighth through 11th grade to enroll in Oklahoma’s 
Promise.

HB 4073 requires public school districts to implement 
mobile panic alert systems from a State Board of 
Education-approved list. Every system should be capable 
of the following:

•	 Connecting emergency service technologies among 
first responder agencies;

•	 Transmitting 911 calls and mobile activations;

•	 Alerting school personnel when an emergency 
response is initiated on-site by a phone application, 
phone call, text message, or other technology;

•	 Providing emergency responders with floor plans and 
caller location; and

•	 Integrating school personnel with emergency 
responders to provide updates during an emergency.

HB 2158 requires students to complete a half unit of 
personal financial literacy coursework to graduate. The 
coursework may be integrated into an existing class or 
taught on its own in the 10th, 11th, or 12th grade. The 
coursework must include information about retirement 
planning, investing, online banking, and credit scores. 

HB 3386 allows students to transfer twice per year to 
another school within the same district, except when 
the receiving school is full for that grade level. Districts 
must establish a policy for intra-district transfers, giving 
preferences to students within the school boundary, 
previous attendees, siblings of current students, children 
of district employees, and students who change residence 
within the boundary. Districts must also adopt a capacity 
policy for accepting transfer students with disabilities.

HB 3958 requires schools to include parents or guardians 
in any digital communication between a staff member 
and an individual student. School staff are not required 
to include parents on academic communications with 
students through school-approved platforms. Exceptions 
may also be made in cases of emergencies. 

HB 1795 creates the Sergeant CJ Nelson Legacy Act. 
The measure provides a five-year exemption for room 
and board at any state college or university for children 
of police officers, emergency medical technicians, and 
firefighters who have died in the line of duty.

SB 358 expands the Lindsey Nicole Henry Scholarship 
to students enrolled in a school that exclusively serves 
homeless students. 

SB 1786 allows a contract using the name, image, or 
likeness of an athlete to extend beyond the athlete’s time 
at the postsecondary institution if the contract is between 
the athlete and the institution.

HB 3727 requires schools to provide cursive handwriting 
instruction for students in third through fifth grade.

HB 2190 authorizes a school district’s board of education 
to establish a casualty and flood insurance recovery fund 
to purchase a high-deductible property insurance policy.

Elections and Ethics
HB 3156 prohibits the use of several types of voting 
systems, including ranked choice voting and instant 
runoff voting, in elections conducted in Oklahoma. 
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HB 1105 extends the timeframe to file a protest of 
constitutionality or objection to the Secretary of State’s 
count of initiative petition signatures from 10 business 
days to 90 days.

SB 518 mandates that individuals endorsing a petition 
for ballot placement must use their legal names and 
grants the Secretary of State the authority to impose a 
filing fee of up to $750 to fund the publication of notices 
about petition filings, which must be displayed on the 
Secretary’s website. The measure also requires that 
notification of filings must be furnished to legislative 
leaders. Additionally, the measure extends the time 
frame for contesting a petition from 10 days to 20 days 
following its publication.

SB 1452 provides an income tax exemption to any 
employer that grants paid leave for their employees to 
work as a volunteer poll worker for a county election 
board. The exemption is equal to $100 per day of paid 
leave granted. 

Emergency Management
HB 2912 creates the State Assistance Dedicated for 
Disaster-impacted Local Economies Revolving Fund. 
The purpose of the fund is to provide advanced financial 
liquidity to governmental subdivisions directly impacted 
by a Federal Emergency Management Agency-declared 
(FEMA) emergency or disaster event. Governmental 
subdivisions must enter into a repayment agreement with 
the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management 
to be eligible. Governmental subdivisions are authorized 
to use these funds for infrastructure repair, temporary 
housing and shelter, to fund gaps in required matching 
funds necessary to participate in FEMA programs, and 
to mitigate revenue losses. A related measure, HB 2913, 
appropriates $15 million to the State Emergency Fund 
and $30 million to the State Assistance Dedicated for 
Disaster-impacted Local Economies Revolving Fund.

HB 3089 establishes the Strengthen Oklahoma Homes 
program to provide federally funded grants to construct 
or retrofit insurable properties to resist damage from 
tornadoes, windstorms, or hail. The grants are intended 
to achieve specific safety standards outlined by the 
Insurance Institute for Business and Home Safety. A 
residential property owner is eligible to apply for grants 
if they have insurable property, reside in an approved 
county, meet certain home conditions, and own an owner-
occupied, single-family residence. Priority is given to low-
income applicants and applicants who live in areas more 
prone to catastrophic weather. 

Energy
SB 1505 expands the Oklahoma Emission Reduction 
Technology Rebate Program to include downstream oil 
and gas production, refining and distribution activities. 

The current program offers a 25 percent rebate for the cost 
of implementing a qualified emissions reduction project. 
The measure also requires the Oklahoma Department 
of Environmental Quality to create an expenditure 
preapproval process for rebate applicants and creates 
a separate revolving fund for rebating downstream 
activities. The general appropriations bill, SB 1125, 
provides $50 million in one-time funding for the program. 

General Government
SB 1399 creates the Oklahoma Capital Assets 
Maintenance and Protection Fund and the 11-member 
Oklahoma Capital Assets Management and Protection 
(OCAMP) Board. The purpose of the board is to develop 
plans and direct the Oklahoma Capitol Improvement 
Authority on the utilization of the Oklahoma Capital 
Assets Maintenance and Protection Fund. The board is 
to develop three different five-year plans that outline 
how to maintain and repair state-owned properties and 
buildings for: public institutions of higher learning; state 
parks operated by the Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation 
Department; and all other state-owned properties and 
buildings. A funding scale for each five-year plan is 
outlined in the measure. 
Additionally, the measure provides that no fund are to 
be made in FY 25. For fiscal years 2026 through 2028, 
allocations from the fund are not to exceed $75 million. 
Beginning FY 29 and every fiscal year after, $50 million 
is to be apportioned to the fund.
The Oklahoma Capitol Improvement Authority must 
submit an annual report to the Governor and legislative 
leadership detailing the expenditures, deposits, and 
investment returns of the Oklahoma Capital Assets 
Maintenance and Protection Fund. 
SB 1372 creates the Oklahoma Aircraft Engine Testing 
Development Grant Program and revolving fund. The 
program is to provide grants to private, public, or 
nonprofit entities to help expand the aircraft engine 
testing capabilities of the state and to develop the aircraft 
engine testing infrastructure. The revolving fund received 
$16 million from the general appropriations bill, SB 1125. 
HB 3623 requires all contractors or subcontractors that 
enter into a contract with a public employer to submit 
an affidavit to the State Purchasing Director attesting 
that they are in compliance with the Status Verification 
System, which verifies the citizenship status of all new 
employees. Contractors providing false affidavits are 
subject to administrative penalties of $5,000 for the first 
offense, with subsequent offenses increasing by $2,000 for 
each offense, and contract termination. 

HB 1010 allows state agencies to purchase equipment 
and supplies, not to exceed $2,500, from a local business 
if the agency is located in a county without a contracted 
vendor. Agencies do not have to get approval from the 



 7 2024 Session Highlights

State Purchasing Division for purchases, but are required 
to give the Central Purchasing Director a 72-hour notice 
before making the purchase. The measure requires 
agencies to maintain a file on each purchase, which is to 
include justifications for the purchase and any supporting 
documents. 

Health Services and Long-Term Care
HB 3668 requires that prosecutions for sexual abuse 
of a vulnerable adult must begin within 12 years of 
discovering the crime. The measure includes all adult 
sexual abuse crimes and extends the statute of limitations 
for these offenses. It also expands the definition of 
racketeering to include Medicaid fraud and sets penalties 
based on the amount of fraudulent payments. Convicted 
individuals will face proportional fines, up to three years 
imprisonment, or both, and must cover investigation and 
litigation costs, with all collected funds deposited into the 
Attorney General’s Medicaid Revolving Fund. 

Insurance
HB 3190 creates the Ensuring Transparency in Prior 
Authorization Act, which establishes timeframes and 
policies for prior authorizations and requires health 
insurance companies to: 

•	 Employ licensed medical professionals to make 
determinations that deny care;

•	 Modernize authorization systems;

•	 Publish prior authorization requirements online; and 

•	 Honor prior authorizations for at least 45 days, or six 
months in the case of chronic conditions. 

SB 1457 qualifies mental injury or illness sustained by 
a first responder as a compensable workplace injury. It 
provides compensation guidelines, including 70 percent 
of the average weekly wage, temporary pension benefits, 
and permanent disability benefits of up to $50,000. The 
measure also requires employers to provide necessary 
treatment for up to one year for first responders diagnosed 
with PTSD, with a cap of $10,000 on prescription 
medication expenses.

SB 1334 requires health benefit plans to cover expenses 
for standard fertility preservation services for individuals 
diagnosed with cancer and where necessary treatments 
may cause infertility. Preauthorization for these services 
is not required, but the plan may have limitations and 
cost-sharing mechanisms like deductibles or copayments. 
Religious employers can request exemptions based on 
their beliefs, but they must inform prospective enrollees 
of this exemption. 

Judiciary
HB 2923 rejects the 17 percent across-the-board pay raise 
for state judges as recommended by the Board on Judicial 
Compensation. Instead, a 7 percent raise is approved by 
the Legislature for district, associate district, and special 
district judges effective July 1, 2024. 

SB 1173 increases the number of special judges appointed 
in the Judicial District 14 (Tulsa and Pawnee counties) 
from three to five.

SB 473 creates a judicial office in Judicial District 7 
(Oklahoma County) and Judicial District 14 (Tulsa and 
Pawnee counties). The method for selecting judges, salary, 
court staffing, and other procedures will be determined 
by the newly established 11-member Task Force for the 
Study of Business Courts. The task force will remain in 
effect until January 31, 2026, and membership to the task 
force will be determined by the Speaker, President Pro 
Tempore, Chief Justice, and Governor. 

Military and Veterans Affairs
SB 1345 adds the United States Space Force as a 
uniformed service under the newly named Uniform 
Military and Overseas Voters Act.

SB 1707 establishes the state veterans home in Sallisaw. 
The Oklahoma Veterans Commission will determine the 
new location, which will replace the veterans home in 
Talihina. The measure also permits the proceeds from 
selling the veterans home in Talihina to be utilized for 
the operations of the new home in Sallisaw. 

Pensions and Retirement
SB 102 increases the benefit multiplier, employee 
contribution rates, and employer contribution rates for 
members of the Oklahoma Police Pension Retirement 
System. The benefit multiplier is increased from 2.5 
percent to 3 percent, whereas the employer and employee 
contribution rate is increased by 1 percent each to 14 
percent and 9 percent, respectively.

•	 Current members under the 2.5 percent benefit 
structure may also retire with the increased 3 percent 
multiplier as long they meet a minimum waiting 
period and/or have a minimum number of credited 
service years.

•	 Members with at least 25 years of credited service 
must wait at least one year after the effective date of 
the act to retire with the 3 percent multiplier;

•	 Members with at least 20 years of credited service 
must wait at least two years after the effective date of 
the act to retire with the 3 percent multiplier;

•	 All other must wait at least five years after the 
effective date of the act to retire at 3 percent or opt 
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to retire at 2.5 percent without the five year waiting 
period.

HB 2687 requires new hires that are commissioned or 
CLEET-certified agents of the Attorney General’s Office 
and Oklahoma Military Department to participate in 
the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Retirement System 
beginning July 1, 2024.

HB 1068 moves all deputy sheriffs and county jailers 
hired prior to November 1, 2020, to the hazardous duty 
plan administered by the Oklahoma Public Employees 
Retirement System (OPERS) beginning November 1, 
2024, and gives these employees until July 1, 2026, to 
elect to purchase service credit in the hazardous duty 
plan at actuarial cost. Former deputy sheriffs or county 
jailers rehired after November 1, 2024, will also have 
six months from the date of reemployment to make an 
election to purchase service credit in the hazardous duty 
plan at actuarial cost. 

HB 1805 designates licensed emergency medical personnel 
hired on or after November 1, 2023, as hazardous duty 
members of OPERS. Qualifying emergency medical 
personnel includes emergency medical responders, 
technicians, and paramedics working for a participating 
OPERS employer. Hazardous duty members of OPERS 
receive increased retirement and pension benefits 
compared to non-hazardous duty employees and are 
subject the following contribution and benefit structure: 

•	 The employee contribution rate is 8 percent of 
compensation, whereas the employer contribution 
rate is 16.5 percent; 

•	 Members are eligible to receive full, unreduced 
retirement benefits after 20 years of service; 

•	 Benefits are calculated using a 2.5 percent per year 
multiplier for the first 20 years of service and 2 
percent per year multiplier for service in excess of 20 
years. 

Public Finance
SB 1125 is the general appropriations bill, providing 
for $12.47 billion in spending for FY 2025. A detailed 
overview can be found on the budget portal linked here. 

$345.5 million worth of capital projects were approved 
for self-financing through the Legacy Capital Financing 
Fund (LCF) this session, including:

HB 2891, which authorizes $80 million to construct, 
refurbish, or expand facilities for chemistry, biosciences, 
science, technology, engineering, and mathematics 
degrees at the University of Oklahoma.

HB 2892, which authorizes $80 million to construct, 
refurbish, or expand engineering facilities at the 
University of Oklahoma.

HB 2893, which authorizes $80 million to construct, 
refurbish, or expand life science facilities at Oklahoma 
State University.

HB 2894, which authorizes $30 million to construct or 
expand Oklahoma State University Medical Authority 
facilities.

HB 2895, which authorizes $27.5 million to construct, 
refurbish, or expand the Oklahoma State Bureau of 
Investigations headquarters and related facilities. 

HB 2896, which authorizes $74 million for the Department 
of Public Safety to construct a centralized training center 
and related facilities.

HB 4012, which authorizes $4.3 million to build the State 
Capitol Arch, which will honor services performed by the 
Oklahoma National Guard. 

HB 2915 authorizes the Oklahoma Capitol Improvement 
Authority to obligate $500 million to ODOT to be used 
to maintain and improve certain highway and bridge 
projects. Those projects include the:

•	 Bridge on Highway 70 over Lake Texoma;

•	 U.S. Highway 81 realignment in Grady County; and 

•	 Interstate 35 in Cleveland, McLain, Garvin, Murray, 
Carter, and Love counties. 

Public Health
HB 1449 establishes the Women’s Bill of Rights, defining 
terms such as, father, mother, male, natural person, and 
specifies that sex means biological sex at birth. It requires 
sex discrimination policies to ensure fair treatment of 
males and females. The measure allows distinctions 
between sexes if related to important government 
objectives, clarifies that equal does not mean identical, 
and permits political subdivisions, including schools, to 
include a person’s sex in data collection.

SB 1675 extends the deadline for the Oklahoma 
Health Care Authority to implement capitated contract 
provisions from October 1, 2023, to April 1, 2024. 
It requires contracted entities to complete provider 
credentialing within 60 days of application receipt and 
respond to service requests for hospitalized members 
within 24 hours. Peer-to-peer conversations after adverse 
determinations must also occur within 24 hours. The 
measure limits post-payment audits to 3 percent of 
claims, includes downgraded claims in denial provisions, 
and extends minimum reimbursement rates from July 1, 
2026, to July 1, 2027. Additionally, at least one statewide 
Medicaid contract must go to a provider-owned entity 
that meets proposal requirements.

HB 3449 establishes the University Hospitals Authority 
Behavioral Health Workforce Development Fund. The 
monies within this fund are allocated to implement a 

https://app.powerbigov.us/view?r=eyJrIjoiY2UwMGIwNjMtZTc2OC00ZDFjLTkwMGYtNGFhOGVkNzMyN2IxIiwidCI6ImZjODgwMmI3LTRlNDUtNDhiYS1hMWYzLWY4NzU4MmQzNjY5YyJ9&pageName=ReportSectionf0e4e8076cb97d940172
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pilot program at behavioral health facilities aimed at 
supporting behavioral health workforce development and 
facilitating access to behavioral health professionals. 

SB 1709 transfers the Office of Client Advocacy within 
the Department of Human Services to the State 
Department of Health. The measure also transfers the 
Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman within 
the Department of Human Services to the Office of the 
Attorney General.

HB 2330 repeals the Psychiatric and Chemical 
Dependency Facility Certificate of Need Act to address 
concerns surrounding the process of establishing 
psychiatric and chemical dependency facilities.

SB 1319 establishes the Public School Vision Screening 
Modernization Revolving Fund to provide grants for 
vision screening equipment, data collection, and related 
services in public schools. The measure allows electronic 
eye charts for in-school screenings, requires a cloud-
based data management system, and directs the State 
Department of Education to share vision screening results 
with the State Department of Health.

Public Safety
HB 4156 creates the criminal act of impermissible 
occupation. Impermissible occupation occurs if the 
person is an alien and willfully and without permission 
enters and remains in the Oklahoma without having 
first obtained legal authorization to enter the United 
States. A conviction is a misdemeanor punishable by 
imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, a fine 
of not more than $500 or both fine and imprisonment. A 
second or subsequent conviction is a felony, punishable by 
imprisonment for up to two years, a fine of up to $1,000 
or both fine and imprisonment. Any person convicted of 
impermissible occupation is required to leave the state 
within 72 hours following conviction or release from 
custody, whichever comes later. Any alien who has 
been denied admission, excluded, or removed, or has 
departed the United States while an order of removal is 
outstanding and then enters or attempts to enter or is 
found in Oklahoma is guilty of a felony. Law enforcement 
is required to collect all identifying information of persons 
arrested for impermissible occupation and cross-reference 
the information with relevant criminal databases. The 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation is authorized to 
maintain the collected information. It is an affirmative 
defense that the person has been granted lawful presence 
by the federal government or has been granted asylum by 
the federal government or the defendant was approved 
for benefits under Deferred Action for Childhood 
Arrivals. Persons convicted of impermissible occupation 
are also ineligible for probation, delayed sentencing, or 
participation in community sentencing. The measure 
declares a statewide preemption on legislation concerning 

the presence of persons who enter and remain in the state 
without legal authorization.

HB 2914 creates the Oklahoma Sheriff’s Office Funding 
Assistance Grant Program. The measure allows counties 
to submit an application for a grant to the Office of the 
Attorney General one time each fiscal year. Grant awards 
are $150,000 to $300,000, depending on qualifications. 
Counties awarded a grant are to limit the use of the grant 
proceeds to the lawful operation of the sheriff’s office and 
may not be used for to pay a salary. The measure also 
requires the basic salary for sheriff may not be less than 
$44,000 and no more than $74,000.

HB 3639 modifies the crime of nonconsensual 
dissemination of private sexual images by removing the 
age qualifier that the image be of a person at least 18 
years of age and who is identifiable in the image. The 
measure also removes the requirement that the image 
was disseminated with the intent to harass or intimidate 
the person. The measure modifies the penalty for 
nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images if 
the person is attempting to gain any property or thing of 
value by increasing the amount of time to be served in 
prison to up to five years. The measure clarifies that these 
provisions do not prohibit the prosecution of a person 
for child pornography. Additionally, any person who 
disseminates three or more images within a six-month 
period is guilty of a felony, punishable by up to 10 years 
in prison. 

HB 3642 provides that any person who procures a minor 
for participation in child pornography or obscene material, 
or any person who possesses, viewed, accessed, shared, 
or streamed child pornography or obscene material 
is subject to prosecution. The measure clarifies the 
definition of child pornography and obscene material, and 
visual depiction to include computer-generated or altered 
images that appear to be a child engaged in obscene acts.

HB 3456 modifies definitions used to protect minors from 
the display of harmful material and provides legislative 
intent that statutes relating to the display of material 
harmful to minors be diligently enforced to protect minor 
children while also protecting the free speech rights of the 
public.

HB 3450 replaces the term child prostitution with 
the term child sex trafficking as used throughout the 
Oklahoma Statutes.

HB 3936 changes the term child pornography to the 
term child sex abuse material as used in the Oklahoma 
Statutes. 

SB 1658 establishes a 20-year statute of limitations for 
the sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult. The measure 
provides that a person may be prosecuted at any time for 
child abuse, sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult, and child 
trafficking if the accused person has provided a confession 
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or admission related to the crime. The measure also 
eliminates language requiring prosecution to commence 
within three years from the date on which the identity of 
the suspect is established by DNA testing.

SB 1662 directs the director of the Oklahoma State 
Bureau of Investigation to develop procedures to enable 
a qualified entity to request a state and national criminal 
history record check to determine whether a covered 
individual is the subject of any child abuse crime. 

Revenue and Taxation
Oklahoma joined the majority of states that offer a sales 
tax exemption on groceries when the Legislature enacted 
HB 1955, which eliminates the 4.5 percent state sales tax 
on the retail sale of food and food ingredients. Any sales or 
excise tax levied by a local government on said items will 
be unaffected. The measure also directs the Oklahoma 
Tax Commission to promulgate rules to implement the 
act in accordance with the Streamline Sales and Use Tax 
Agreement.

A related measure, SB 1283 adds a definition for bottled 
water and food sold with eating utensils provided by the 
seller, as it relates to the state sales tax exemption on 
groceries and food items. The measure also amends the 
definition of prepared food to clarify that food sold with 
eating utensils provided by the seller is taxable if it does 
not include a container or packaging used to transport the 
food. The definition of prepared food is further modified 
to exclude food sold by a food manufacturer, food sold in 
an unheated state by weight or volume as a single item, 
and food sold that ordinarily requires additional cooking 
by the consumer prior to consumption. The measure also 
eliminates the temporary moratorium on local sales tax 
increases on food and food ingredients that would have 
been in place until June 30, 2025.

HB 3388 makes numerous updates the Parental Choice 
Tax Credit (PCTC). The measure:

•	 Exempts payments received pursuant to the PCTC 
from being used to offset or pay delinquent tax 
liabilities, penalties, or interest or intercepted by any 
entity seeking to collect a debt, court fine, or court-
ordered judgment;

•	 Exempts PCTC payments from taxable income 
effective tax year 2024; 

•	 Clarifies that students that are expected to enroll in a 
private school are eligible for the credit; 

•	 Amends the definition of qualified expense to exclude 
tuition and fees paid with a scholarship or any tuition 
and fees that are discounted by the school; 

•	 Aligns the tax credit period with the fiscal year 
beginning FY 2026 and modifies the tax credit caps to 
align with the transition from tax year to fiscal year;

•	 Amends the income criteria to be based on the 
combined adjusted gross income of the parents or legal 
guardians of the student rather than the household 
income;

•	 Allows students that attend an accredited private 
school that exclusively serves homeless or financially 
disadvantaged students to receive the maximum 
$7,500 credit amount or the cost to educate the 
student, whichever is less; 

•	 Replaces the affidavit requirement with an enrollment 
verification form requirement that the Oklahoma 
Tax Commission (OTC) will use to determine the 
installment payment amounts; 

•	 Allows taxpayers that are in receipt of income-
based government benefits such as SNAP, TANF or 
Soonercare to bypass additional income verification 
requirements; 

•	 Aligns the application process for the tax credit with 
the school year. The application period will open on 
February 15 of each preceding school year, beginning 
with the 2025-2026 school year; 

•	 Prohibits the OTC from requiring any taxpayer that 
received the credit in the fall of 2024 to reapply in 
the spring of 2025 and requires the credit amount for 
spring of 2025 to be based on the amount issued for 
the fall of 2024;

•	 Grants priority consideration to applicants with an 
income of $150,000 or less as long as the application is 
submitted within the first 60 days of the application 
period; 

•	 Requires credits to be prorated by semester, paid in 
two installments; 

•	 For student enrolled in the full school year, payments 
will be issued by August 30 and January 15; 

•	 For students not enrolled in a full school year, 
payments will be issued within 30 days after the 
application is approved or during the first 30 days of 
the semester that student is enrolled in, whichever is 
later;

•	 Directs the OTC to prioritize taxpayers with students 
that received the credit in the prior year and are 
below the $150,000 income qualifier if the number of 
applications exceed the allowed cap for the year; 

•	 Requires taxpayers to provide notification to the OTC 
within 30 days of certain actions that would disqualify 
them from receiving the credit; 

•	 Allows the OTC to reallocate unused credit to the next 
eligible taxpayer in line if they receive notice from a 
taxpayer that they cannot or will not be participating 
in the program for any reason;
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•	 Requires the OTC to notify applicants of their approval 
status within 30 days of closure of the application 
window; and

•	 Requires the OTC publish monthly updates on its 
website regarding the number of credits claimed and 
students receiving funds. 

State Powers
SB 404 updates the Oklahoma Religious Freedom Act by 
declaring that the act of excluding any person or entity 
from participation in or receipt of governmental funds, 
benefits, programs, or exemptions based solely on the 
religious character or affiliation of the person or entity 
will be considered a substantial burden. 

Technology
HB 3594 establishes Title 75A in the Oklahoma Statutes 
to address laws and regulations related to technology. The 
measure defines numerous terms related to blockchain 
and digital asset mining and outlines a series of actions 
that the state and local governments are prohibited from 
doing to hinder or restrict the use of digital asset for 
purchases, commercial asset mining, home asset mining, 
staking, or operating nodes on a blockchain network. All 
actions and transactions by industries addressed in Title 
75A may be subject to the jurisdiction of the Oklahoma 
Department of Securities. 
HB 1600 provides a sales tax exemption for sales of 
machinery and equipment used for commercial mining 
of digital assets until December 31, 2029. The mining 
must occur in a qualified colocation facility that has a 
load reduction agreement with its retail electric supplier. 
Eligible equipment includes, but is not limited to, servers, 
computers, racks, power distribution units, cabling, 
switchgears, transformers, substations, software, 
network equipment, and electricity.

Wildlife
SB 941 modifies several hunting and fishing licensing 
fees for residents and nonresidents. The major fee 
modifications include:
•	 Raising the price for an annual resident fishing license 

from $24 to $30 and for an annual nonresident fishing 
license from $54 to $80. Both licenses are valid for one 
year from the date of issuance;

•	 Raising the price for an annual resident hunting 
license from $24 to $35 and for an annual nonresident 
hunting license from $175 to $208. Both licenses are 
valid for one year from the date of issuance; and

•	 Raising the price for an lifetime fishing license from 
$200 to $375 and for a lifetime combination hunting 
and fishing license from $750 to $1,024.

The measure also modifies certain provisions relating to 
the Wildlife Commission and hunting and fishing licenses. 
Those modifications include:
•	 Raising the age at which residents and nonresidents 

are exempt from having a fishing or hunting license 
from 16 to 18;

•	 Creating a five-year disability combination hunting/
finishing license for $20;

•	 Removing the five-year fishing, hunting, and 
combination licenses for residents and replacing it 
with a three-year combination hunting/fishing license 
for $120; 

•	 Removing the lifetime hunting licenses; 
•	 Providing that certain licenses are required to hunt in 

a commercial hunt area;
•	 Requiring the Wildlife Commission to submit a report 

to the Legislature every five years with proposed 
licensing fees based on the latest Consumer Price 
Index; and

•	 Repealing Title 29 Section 4-112, which relates to 
hunting licenses. This repealer addresses a duplicate 
sections issue.
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